top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrew Flores

Sitting Is The New Smoking

Updated: Jan 28, 2019


"Sitting is the new smoking", may be a phrase you have heard from time to time. Especially with all of these new stand up desks becoming popular throughout the country.


Here is an awesome article that sheds some light on this phrase:

https://www.startstanding.org/sitting-new-smoking/#


A few take-aways from me and what I think about it.


1) 1 hour of exercise CANNOT do 8 hr+ of sitting

2) Poor sitting postures lead to problems.

3) Sitting with better posture and in different postures can help add bodily awareness.

4) The only bad posture is the one you spend TOO MUCH time in. Move throughout the whole entire day.

5) Attain a MOVEMENT based life style. Don't just focus on working out


There was a time in my life when sitting used to hurt my lower back and I would be achy all day. However, nowadays I do enjoy sitting to get some work done and some thinking. Since, I've developed a MOVEMENT based lifestyle, I don't have those lower back aches anymore. I've learned to sit in different postures and with a lot more awareness and effective breathing.


Just thought I'd share this with you guys, especially since this topic does come up a lot from time to time with many of my clients. I figured you guys would benefit from learning about this too.




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page